• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

transmission swap

green goat

I won an M925a2 a few months back and like the truck but not too happy with the Allison, I miss shifting. I have been playing with the idea of swapping the trans. out with a five speed from an M54 that I parted out. I'm not sure if the manual from the multi-fuel will hold up to the Cummins or if I need to find another donor. Another option I had thought of was robbing the trans from an 800 series with a Cummins so that it would (or should) bolt up to my engine. I'm still learning my way around this truck and though it wouldn't be original anymore atleast it would be all military parts. Any thoughts, tips, or opinions that may help will be appreciated.

green goat

I'm sure I don't use the truck to it's full potential and may never but I would like to keep from adding alot more weight to it. I don't have alot of experience with different engine/ trans combo but I would be happy with it if it ran like my M52a2. It has the Mack with a 5spd. and scoots along pretty good. Does the 800 series with 14.00x20 tires accelerate and pull long hills anything like either of these trucks?

As far as the Allison it will be sold off when or after I am able to get another trans in and working.

green goat

I'm not familiar with an Eaton. Is that more of an over the road type trans or would it have that somewhat mechanical feel like the 5spd. when moving the stick?

M813A1

Get a Eaton Road Ranger RTO950LL or similar transmission it will have the low gear for hard pulling !! And that will work with your 400 Cummins in the M915,M916 and M920 . That trans will handle the power and torque and give you good highway speed !!

eldgenb