• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Turn Signal Issue

kburns2

I am having a strange turn signal issue on my M1009. It is an 86 if that matters. When I got the truck a few months ago, the turn signal stalk was loose and floppy. Engaging the right turn was fine, but it is very hard to engage the left turn signal. When I could get the left signal to engage, it would not cancel after the turn. The right signal works fine. So I figured that I needed to replace the turn signal switch and I did. Nothing changed. While changing it, I am new to this type of stuff, I discovered the wiper switch that was kinda behind and to the left of the turn signal switch. I figured that might be the problem, so I replaced it as well. Now the stalk is no long loose and floppy, but I still am having issues engaging the left signal and it won't cancel after a left turn. The right turn is still fine.

My conclusion now is that the turn signal switch was fine and the floppy issue was caused by the wiper switch, but I can't figure out the left turn. It is like the opening for the control stalk is too small and that I need to make it bigger so that the stalk can move further down to engage the left signal. That might fix the problem, but I have to think there is a better solution as I am pretty sure it didn't come from the factory that way.

Anyone have a similar experience or any ideas on what I need to do?

Thanks,

Keith

Tinstar

Super Moderator
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Welcome to SS

Issue has been discussed many times.
Suggest a search and reading.

I had same issue and also a horn issue.
Replaced turn signal switch with NOS GM part that I found on eBay.
Solved both problems at once and lever solidly clicks and lever isn’t sloppy.