• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Two silly oil change questions...

FlameRed

Steel Soldiers Supporter
I free admit I am a newbie, and I have two silly oil change questions as my next oil change in coming up soon. M998.

1. Last time I changed the oil, I finished up and started the engine to let it cycle before I checked the oil and discovered that the brand new pristine oil on the dip stick was black! Yeah, I wiped it off and looked again - black not the golden color as I would have expected. Yes, it took the expected amount of oil as advertised. I assume that whatever oil was in the oil cooler did not drain? I don't see anything in the procedures to drain the oil from the oil cooler. Am I missing a part of the procedure?
  2. Anyone recommended an oil flush? Does not sound like a great idea if a bunch of the oil cannot be easily drained out of the oil cooler.

Thanks in advance!

TOBASH

Father, Surgeon, Cantankerous Grouch
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Oil change without changing filter first means you’re mixing old and new. I usually flush with extra oil BUT that is me being compulsive and you don’t really need to.

FlameRed

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Oil change without changing filter first means you’re mixing old and new. I usually flush with extra oil BUT that is me being compulsive and you don’t really need to.
I am sorry, I did not mention I did indeed install a fresh oil filter. So the oil filter was not the source of the black.

juanprado

Steel Soldiers Supporter
It is normal for diesels to get black quickly. Even new oil will darken much faster than maybe what you are used to in a gas engine. Many diesel oils start off darker anyway because of the additive package.