• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Un-muffled 6.2

Anyone running their 6.2's without mufflers? I have to rearrange my exhaust due to the shackle flip lift and was weighing the options. I've heard uncorking the diesels makes them run quite a bit better but I am new to the fuel oil burners other than in my Kubota. :wink:

doghead

4 Star General /Moderator
Staff member
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Did you read any of the 114 threads that come up with an advanced search for "mufflers" in the CUCV forum?

patracy

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Sure, you'll gain about 1 to 2hp cutting the mufflers off and make it totally unbearable to drive. Even more so if we're talking about a M1008 and an engine that revs over 3K rpm just going down the road. As a side bonus, you'll gain the attention of every police officer around. I bet you'd even have one ask for your autograph possibly. :whistle:

Keith_J

Minimal improvement, the exhaust is already dual and more than sufficient for naturally aspirated.

Turbocharged trucks can get by without a muffler because the turbine absorbs the sonic energy and converts it to mechanical energy which then goes to compressing the intake air.. Temperature also drops over the turbine which also reduces losses through the muffler.

Sure, you'll gain about 1 to 2hp cutting the mufflers off and make it totally unbearable to drive. Even more so if we're talking about a M1008 and an engine that revs over 3K rpm just going down the road. As a side bonus, you'll gain the attention of every police officer around. I bet you'd even have one ask for your autograph possibly. :whistle: