• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

What Model is This and would I need a CDL in Texas to drive it?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Aldixie

Hi,
I have just been offered this truck in the picture. I'm new to MV's, can you tell me what model it is. It looks like a 5 ton but the bed seems shorter then most.

Thanks,

Alex

Attachments

mkcoen

Steel Soldiers Supporter
While the data plate is probably a moot point since it's a converted tractor, it's likely still going to have a GVW of over 26k pounds, which in Texas means you need a CDL (and in the case of a 939 series, an Air Brake Endorsement) to legally drive it.

jhooah

Depending on how the bed is mounted and such, "Well worth it" is a real opinion. If you wanted something for real work, there are unmodified 5Tons out there with larger beds that can carry a full load. this truck will have a heavier duty rear spring setup than the standard 5 ton and that has to be taken into account as well. If you want a vehicle for historical purposes it won't be this one without some unmodifying. If you wanted a toy, and the price is what you want to pay after getting a license and such, then go for it.
W Winget
[

QUOTE=DanDan;1590816]Yes to CDL. Buy the truck and have someone drive it for you while you obtain the proper licence. It will be well worth it. Good luck.:tank:[/QUOTE]

VPed

Steel Soldiers Supporter
It does not require a CDL in TX. It does require at minimum, a class B license but not commercial unless you intend to use the truck commercially.

mkcoen

Steel Soldiers Supporter
It does not require a CDL in TX. It does require at minimum, a class B license but not commercial unless you intend to use the truck commercially.