• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Whistling from fuel tank

As I was doing my walkaround this morning, I heard a whistling sound coming from the area of the fuel tank.

So I started wiggling lines around at the top of the tank, and discovered one was disconnected.

This one:
fueltank.JPG

I grabbed a wrench and threded it back in and tightened it, but I don't think that's where the whistling was coming from. (What does that line go to, anyway?)

I was headed to work and didn't have time to mess with it further. I guess I need to get under there with a squirt bottle of soapy water and figure out where that whistling is coming from. I'm no mechanic, but I'm reckon I shouldn't be hearing that.

Wildchild467

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Does it make the sound with the truck off? It could be our electric fuel pump located inside the tank. Your squirt bottle will not help because one line is fuel pressure and the other is return. If they were leaking, you would see fuel leaking.

Check your drain valves on your air tanks to make sure they are closed. sounds can echo and appear somewhere that they are not.

When I remove the fuel cap, should there be a vacuum?

I think the line that was off might be the return. Is the return a small copper line?

I had to run an errand during lunch and undid the cap to check fuel level. A lot of air sucked in and the truck seemed to run better. I wonder if the return is restricted?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G930A using Tapatalk

This just keeps getting stranger and stranger. Looking at the parts manual for LDS 465, the return line should be rubber. So the one that wasn't tightened down was the supply I guess.
I wiggled it and it literally came loose in my hand.