• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

white star after WWII

800summit

I was wondering if the plain white star on the side of Military vehicles is correct after the invasion of Normandy until present day ?
I see the white star on private owned vehicles mine included after that time period are correct or not:?:

TexAndy

Well, I'm no expert and I never served, but I seem to recall reading about US Forces painting a white star on their vehicles during the Korean War...

ida34

When the vehicles began getting camo paint instead of the semi gloss od of the Vietnam area the national symbol (the white star) changed to a 3" black or contrasting star on the bumper in the center and on the rear of the vehicle in the center. The contrasting was usually green when the camo pattern called for black in that area. Black on black is hard to see. You can also look in the tech manual section. There is a marking manual with all of this information. I forgot the actual number of the pub. So to answer your question, a camo truck or current truck should not have a white star. It has been this way since the late 70's and early 80's.

gunboy1656

The white star continued up until Vietnam. then when the 4 color, the MERDC, came into effect it went away. I dont remember the dates for the changes, and I don thame my manual on hand right now.

Ida34 your too quick.

if your truck is camo then yes its not correct, if OD the your good. But then again it is your truck do as you like.

WillWagner

The Person You Were Warned About As A Child
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Same for me. I cxan plainly see the star on the hood under the MERDC. If the light is just right, I can make out the old stenciling on the truck too.

dk8019