• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Winch Kit

tx399999

I'm completely new to winch operation and have been researching what gear I should have on hand. I've gone through FM 9-43-2 and TM 9-2320-361-10 but I'm sure there is more complete information here. My list so far is:

2 3"x10' tree protectors
2 1" shackles
2 6" snatch blocks
1 6"x30' recovery strap

Here Snatch Blocks is the source for snatch blocks that I am thinking about. I know that I'm missing something and would like to hear any additions or corrections to my list.

Recovry4x4

LLM/Member 785
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
I think you should "up" the size of the tree straps. I'd also seriously consider having a wrecker chain. I lost mine and sure wish I could afford another one!

rumplecat

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Is this chain what you are talking about being a wrecker chain. I saw it yesterday hanging off a pickup bed as I was heading home from the Petit Jean MV show, the guy made me a package deal I couldn't refuse, this being laid off sucks, he had a super 1903 for $400 I couldn't swing.
On the chain how do you use the large loop, the chain is very heavy duty!
James G.

Attachments

KsM715

rumplecat, what is that light guard off of? If it works for a M715 want to sell it?

If so I call first dibs on it!!

rumplecat

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Sorry I have three 715s screaming for the black out light guard! The old guy had a pickup bed full of odds and ends parts he had cleaned out of a shed he had, the pistol and bayonet were from his closet! I would have gotten a couple of other interesting parts/small machines but I wasn't sure what they were off of and I am trying to economize.
James

Recovry4x4

LLM/Member 785
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter