• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Wire Routing Question...Tracking wires after a harness massacre

dhaumann69166

Hi everyone I am new to the HMMWV community and need your help! I recently purchased a ‘93 AM General M1038. The previous owner cut the main wiring harness coming into the cab in front of your right knee and removed all the headlight wiring in the cab. When he cut it he only left a couple inches of wire on the inside and none of them have the steel tags. I have managed to track down most of the headlight and front lighting wires but I am having trouble figuring out which ones control tail lights and brake. Also there are a few wires that I don’t know what they go to. I have searched all over and looked at tons of wiring diagrams but I haven’t found anything that shows wire routing and what all wires are in that harness. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Have a happy new year.

bikeman

Steel Soldiers Supporter
The -20 TM should have a wiring diagram, but in all honesty, I'd just try to find a replacement harness.

I think the additional wires you are finding are for the blackout system. If all these have been cut, to include the connector to the light switch (which also includes dash lighting) you're going to be fighting a lot of wires.

doghead

4 Star General /Moderator
Staff member
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Please do not start multiple threads on the same subject.

dhaumann69166