• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

12V bus bar

kcobean

I've been looking at the multitude of 24v->12v step-down converters out there and the one thing I keep wondering is what do you do when you want to drive multiple devices off of one of these converters. Has anyone built their own bus bar to be able to hook onto a 12V bus with ring connectors onto the bar? Is there a better solution?

pjwest03

I was just looking at those. So I'm no electrician, but these only provide the "hot wire" or positive wire distribution right? The ground to frame or body is always done locally?
Yes and yes. The traditional automotive setup is to use the body and or frame as the ground. In practice that means getting a good clean connection and protecting the connection area from corrosion. A great many electrical issues in cars and trucks are caused by bad/dirty/corroded grounds. Cleaning the grounds and possibly replacing the ground bonding straps is always a good place to go when you have a weird issue. You may find ground wiring in modern vehicles using composites and fiberglass bodied things like corvettes.

Wire Fox

I've been looking at the multitude of 24v->12v step-down converters out there and the one thing I keep wondering is what do you do when you want to drive multiple devices off of one of these converters. Has anyone built their own bus bar to be able to hook onto a 12V bus with ring connectors onto the bar? Is there a better solution?