• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

1988 Humvee Project: Installed my "Bed Divider" today.

JoeJrTheBarber

1988 Humvee Project: Installed my "Bed / Cargo Divider" today.

Had the day off and took advantage of the "heat wave" Chicago was having with temps in the lower 50's and installed my "Bed Divider" I picked up offa good ol
Ebay. I am by no means a mechanic but I have built a few racecars and motorcycles in my day so I wasn't too afraid to attack something like this (spray paint fixes everything !)..

How the truck looked as I got it. Was lovely to have water rushing into the cab when raining or even better after a car wash. Plus whatever heat the truck did make ran right out into the bed with the 1'' gap.
BedDivider.jpg

I see this as a temp thing as I am going to get a "iron curtain" back window / wall thing-e eventually so I didn't want to go all out and rivet the thing in place as the directions said so I got a few tubes of industrial silicone and a few self taping screws and off I went.
BedDivider1.jpgBedDivider2.jpg

Install went pretty straight forward. Piece is about 1/2'' short on both sides so I had to get creative with some duct tape and silicone to fill in those gaps but all in all came out great and should do a pretty good job of keeping what's in the bed in the bed. Could prob make a better fitting piece with some L-channel minus fitting the grooves of the bed like this piece did (this piece is some kinda hard plastic / maybe fiberglass)..