• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

BRAKES

big daddy

Man what a day!Little by little ,I rebuilt the master cylinder a while back still no brakes! Never had an airpack apart much less knowing what one is ,but armed with a blow up diagram from one off of an M809 ( was hoping it was the same) took it all apart cleaned and unstuck (technical term) it. Today weather in the 60's ,drag boys outside let them pump while I bleed the wheel cylinders. I can't believe it, now the pedal goes down about 1 1/2 in. and is rock hard! I'm just starting out working on these trucks and it seems to get easier everyday! I can't believe how well built and designed these trucks are,to be over 40 years old and everything still unbolts without breaking(no bleeders broke or stuck) Man I can't wait to get it done and legal!

any harm in mixing silicone and plain ole brake fluid ? from the evidence under the seat of the 5 ton i think its already been done i was just wondering what i was in for down the trail. a couple of cyls show signs ,so a complete rebuild is not far off. just wanted to wait till late fall if possible as i need this truck now.

rmgill

DOT 3 and 4 are Glycol based fluids, DOT 5 is silicone based. Mixing them and then agitating them makes Mayonnaise. Just as mixing and agitating water and oil does (real mayonnaise being a mix of vegetable oil and egg plus other stuff for taste).

cranetruck

Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
When you mix them in a glass jar you can observe the layers. Still works as a hydraulic fluid.