• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Cummins WMO mix

CGarbee

I've been running at 50% in both the XM813 and the M817 for about six months now with no problems (3k miles on the caro, almost as many on the tipper...).

powerhouseduece

i have a question for you cummins guys. my old boss has a 1989 5.9l, do you think it will be ok if we were to run a 25% mix of filtered WMO? thanks.

CGarbee

I'm using a X100 filter housing with bag filters that are a bit taller than the ones referenced above... Pump the WMO from one tank (either a 55 gallon one in the shop of a 400 gallon tank trailer that I use when collecting from some local repair shops) through the unit over to a storage tank. I'm using 1 micron filters...
A place that sells the same housing that I have (available in a kit with a bunch of filter bags, differentail pressure guage, and legs) is located at:
http://www.filterbag.com/x100.php

CGarbee

Re: RE: Cummins WMO mix

powerhouseduece said:
i have a question for you cummins guys. my old boss has a 1989 5.9l, do you think it will be ok if we were to run a 25% mix of filtered WMO? thanks.

If I'm thinking correctly, you have bassically the same setup on the 89 six banger that I have in my '90 ReCon 4BT in my M37. The manual for the unit mentions running MO as an lubrication aid when running some of the "alternate" fuels through the rotary injection pump, so I suspect that you would be ok as long as you filter it well.
Try 20-25% and see how it does.
50% has been doing just fine in my '90 ReCon Cummins 4BT with the Bosh VE pump.

Re: RE: Cummins WMO mix

powerhouseduece said: