• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Fuel pump not working (and how I troubleshot it)

TenTires

Ok, Im not saying that this is all inclusive or anything (thats what the "reply" function is for) but my fuel pump quit working and I was able to get it fixed through the advice of some folks outside of the forum, so I figured that I would post about it so that when somebody did a "Search" it would come up and be helpful right off the bat. :wink:

Ok, so this is my first Deuce so Im still learning the ins and outs of how everything works. That said, was hanging out with another member asking him questions when I noticed that when he turned his "electrical" (?) switch on, I could hear his in tank electric fuel pump running and I realized that I had never heard mine running like that, and come to think of it, it was a little harder to start than his so I decided to check it out when I got home (I didnt have my truck there b/c my radiator was in the shop).
So, sure enough, I get home and try it out and nothing. Hmm. Well, what to do now:?: I was told that there was a fuse under the square cover on top of the fuel pump on the tank (pic #1) and at the suggestion of a couple of folks, I figured Id try that first. KISS right? Yeah, not quite.
Come to find out, this was not going to be as easy as I had anticipated (being an aircraft mechanic, I should have known :roll:) because the very first bolt (there's 3) that I tried to loosen stripped out and wouldnt allow me to remove the cover. I broke 3 flathead screwdrivers (the most commonly abused tool in the Navy btw, at least thats what they teach us) trying to get leverage on it but no joy.