• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M1008 Glow plug issues.

Alucard-HD

Ok, first off i'm new to this forum. I looked around a bit and found this be a common issue for these trucks. When i first bought the truck, it had bad plugs and no resistor and i am new to the 6.2s so i had no clue. One day i was driving it on the highway and smoke was pouring out of the dash, and i had no idea what it was. I noiced then i had a bad draw on the batteries. So i looked for new glow plugs, like a moron i put 12v plugs in it aua well it started right up the first time and that was it, fried. So i bought 24v plugs and they worked great for the first few days and then the truck wouldnt start again. i plug the plugs out and they didnt look bad. later i found i have two cards in this truck. one was right under the wheel and it was a bigger card, and the other was over to the right and it was half the size of the first card, and it was fried to a crisp. so that being said, how hard is it to but a push button in instead of the card? Any help would be great.

K9Vic

Well something is not right with your CUCV if you do not have a resistor block as the glow plus are 12volt and not 24volt. The only part on these trucks that is 24v is the starter, everything else including the glow plus is 12v. With a 24v CUCV (Not a converted 12v CUCV) you can bypass the resistor block by connecting the GP relay to the front battery to get 12 volts if the resistor block go bad. The GP control card under the dash is known to go bad on these trucks and replacements can be had on eBay. There are plenty of post here on how to use the push button system, but you need to find out why you do not have a resistor block to convert 24v to 12v as it should have 12v glow plus.

Alucard-HD