• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Need some help with broken generator bracket/manifold bolt

NormB

IMG_3229.jpgIMG_3230.jpg

Broken part is #18 on figure 36 or 38 of TM 9-2320-280-24P-1, goes between mounting bracket for 100 or 200A generator, does double duty holding down manifold AND a bracket which, although I have a 60A generator, is there.

Thing snapped off pretty much flush with the head.

I have some experience with such things - volkswagens (an earlier life) for example - using a drill, easy-out (which rarely is), tapping and helicoil installation,

Questions are:

1 - I'm planning on pulling the generator anyway, have a nice new 200A model with peripheral parts, belts, etc which should give me more room to work - getting a drill in there, easy out and tap...

2 - I need to replace the o-ring gasket in the oil dipstick tube where it meets the pan (it drips) which will require yet another manifold bolt be pulled, I'm thinking in for a penny, in for a pound, just pull 'em all so I have that much more room to work without the generator OR manifold in the way, replace as needed with LOTS of nickel-based antiseize compound, new gaskets, button it all up.

3 - I changed the glow plugs a few months back and that SAME cylinder's GP was a BEAR to remove, posted pictures of it. You'd think if there was some blow-by, a head gasket leak there'd be that distinct tappeting sound coming from under the hood somewhere, but I don't hear it. I've owned Nortons, Hondas, BMW motorcycles and one Subaru Outback that had a gasket leaking, the sound in unmistakable, but my hearings a little impaired and the motor's pretty LOUD. Anyone think it's possible this is why the GP was burnt up?

4. Anyone think this isn't "safe" to drive like this?