• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Newb roaded M816 from CO to WY

wcuhillbilly

Ok, new to SS been lurking in the shadows for a while. Pirate and Cumminsforum was where I called home untill now.
Situation:
Bought an M816 Wrecker for use with my part time side business and fulfill a lifelong dream of MV ownership.:clinto: I will be roading the 816 home from western Colorado near Rifle/Carbondale area up to northeast WY in approx 2 weeks. Being im an experianced diesel mechanic and truck driver the operational side doesnt bother me, what spooks me is the unfamiliarity with this particular system. I need advice on conversions such as Mil spec oil being 15/40 or brake fluid being DOT 3,4, or 5. Particulars that you would bring with you if you were headed out to pick up a truck of your own. Common size wrenches, quirks related to these trucks etc. I know the front steer tires (11/20s) will need to be swapped out prior to roading, thus is there a shop around Marble/Carbondale that can do that?
Figgured on taking the 4runner down with a tow dolly modded for the Pintle and using the wrecker to tow the dolly/4runner back, Thus wiring up a 24-12vdc adapter under the dash for charging cell phone and running a wire to battery on 4 runner to keep it topped off while running hazards on the 4 runner.
Also, does anyone know of a good set of earmuff type hearing protection with 2way coms built in... not looking forward to using the foam marshmallows in the ear canals....

Looking forward to getting the M816 safely in the front yard. Thanks in advance for all tips and hints

Joe S.

Sorry, meant to put this in the general section, not the hotrodding sections....

Last edited:

wcuhillbilly