• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Question About Torque

jplace1011

Quick Question about my M1009 6.2 Engine: (I’m still learning, so bare with me) I’ve never used a Torque Wrench, but I would like to use one for the bolts for the Oil Pan. I have a small oil leak and am thinking I can properly tighten those up first. I’m hoping that will stop the leak.

I found the Torque Specs for the Oil Pan in TM 9-2815-237-34. I’m wondering, what’s the exact Torque Number for the specs that have a dash? Example: Tighten studs to
156-240 lb.-in. So does that mean tighten between 156 and 240lb? That seems like an awfully big range! Maybe I’m not reading it correctly?

**I have drawn Red Squares around the two Specs Below

And just to verify, the proper use of a Torque Wrench. If, for example, something is supposed to be tightened to 20 lb-ft., you would set the dial on the wrench to 20 then turn it until clicks right?

Thank you in advance!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited:

Mainsail

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Make sure you have the right torque wrench. Those torques are in inch-pounds, not foot-pounds.

The reason for the broad range is so you can tighten them to the middle of the range, and if that proves not to be enough, you may keep tightening until it is, up to but not exceeding the high number. The danger is dimpling the oil pan around the bolt holes, or stripping the threads out of the block.

jplace1011

Make sure you have the right torque wrench. Those torques are in inch-pounds, not foot-pounds.