• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Series & Parallel Hook Up

Tlauden

Just another idea, But would this work to get 12v on the 24v System? you obviously continue to run the two 12v batteries in series to get the trucks 24v power. but also hook them up in parallel to gain the 12v using both batts so your not using one more than the other. I made a quick sketch to show what i mean since i cant really explain it much better:(

http://www.steelsoldiers.com/members/tlauden-albums-general-picture13932-would-work.jpg

Please correct me if im wrong with this idea, i am new to this MV world and honestly i don't own one yet, but i'm trying to gain knowledge so when i by my deuce i'm not completely lost lol

Thanks in advance
Tyler

doghead

4 Star General /Moderator
Staff member
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
NO you can not do that.

glcaines

Steel Soldiers Supporter
:ditto: This would be a dead short and if you hook it up this way, there is a strong likelihood that batteries would explode! Don't try this!

Tlauden

ok, thanks, and what i had in mind was a way to run 12v accessories on the 24v system without any converters or anything like that. and thanks for the input, like i said it was just an idea i had. i honestly didnt know if it was a good or bad one. thanks though now i can throw away this idea before i would go and destroy something lol ive never worked on a 24v system before so im trying to gain knowledge on it

wsucougarx

Tlauden thanks for bringing this topic up. I was brainstorming this morning about this very thing. Bigburt thanks for the diagram. Now I am electrically incompetant. How would a guy hook up 6 batteries for a 24v?

Stalwart