• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

What year FMTV to purchase? A0/A1/A1R?

Givinup

Hope everyone is doing well. I've been obsessing over overland/expo vehicles for the past several years. After overcoming some health issues, and saving up enough money, I'm preparing to take begin the build. I estimate it'll take 6-9 months to complete, so would like to purchase by Oct 15th, to be ready for mid summer trip. I want to get some guidance, based on a little bit of back ground. I don't plan on being in the bush for months at a time, but would like to disappear from all signs of human life with my Wife for up to 2 weeks at a time to push the reset button after stressful work contracts.

For work I do project leads for groups of several hundred and many tasks concurrently. I work 6 days a week, 12 - 14 hour shifts. The money is decent, but seemingly not worth it most of the time (seems common in life..). I've saved up enough to make a nice rig, but nowhere near unicat, earthroamer etc status. I have budgeted 30k for the rig and 50k for the camper, understanding there's a 12-15% fudge factor in there. I say this just to share I feel comfortable enough to manage the labor, independent trades etc to perform the applicable work. [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Tahoma, Calibri, Geneva, sans-serif]
[/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana, Arial, Tahoma, Calibri, Geneva, sans-serif]Based on the number of hours I work, and the fact I'm not a mechanic or great handyman, and I don't prefer to tinker beyond what I have to. I can do interior work, sound proof etc, but I don't prefer and don't have a shop to do diesel work etc. [/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana, Arial, Tahoma, Calibri, Geneva, sans-serif]
[/FONT]