• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Deuce v. 5-ton for a bob-job

mtk

Hello everyone,

I'm a newbie to the site and to military vehicles in general, but some recent buying opportunities and a few hours spent surfing around here has me thinking of changing that fact. While I know this is the "Deuce hot rod forum," I didn't see much in the 5-ton forum on bob jobs so I figured this would be the better place for my questions.

I'm seriously considering picking up a Deuce or two in the near future.

If I do, I'd like to keep one relatively stock and I'd like to turn the other into a "bobber" with a M105 bed on it.

Yes, I know that is heresy to some purists, but I've seen quite a few photos of them and they look like they'd be an absolute hoot to have around and a lot more useful than a longer, 6x6 truck.

So far, I've managed to give myself a quick, crash course in these trucks, but I'm still looking for some information in regards to how the Deuces and 5-ton trucks compare. Can someone tell me what GVWR the Deuce and 5-tons get registered at when privately owned?

One concern I have is on the registration of a bobbed truck. From what I've read, a Deuce weighs between 8k and 10k lbs, depending on bed choice and such, when bobbed. What GVWR does a bobbed Deuce get on its registration paperwork?

I was thinking of bobbing a 5-ton, rather than a Deuce, so that the resulting truck would have a higher allowable GVWR due to the larger 5-ton axles under it. But the flip side is, how much heavier would a bobbed 5-on be than a bobbed Deuce, assuming they're cut & modified in a similar manner?

I guess is boils down to this: which is the better bob-job candidate: a Deuce or a 5-ton, and why?

Any input you can offer would be most appreciated.