• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M1031 is it a good 18ft camper tow rig?

jets1959

I have 18ft camper trailer and a 2004 chevy colorado pickup. The pickup tows the trailer just fine but the gas mileage goes from almost 30mpg down to about 8mpg. I am a mechanic and thought the M1031 would be the prefect truck for me. What do you think? What kind of Mpg do they get and where can I get a good one in the PNW? I just missed the one on Ebay and GL pulled the one at Ellsworth AFB I also want the PTO driven generator model. Thanks from the FNG Dwayne

JUNKYARDJOHN

The M1031 will pull your trailor anywhere you want like it's not back there, but you won't see a huge improvement in milliage over your colorado. The only way it'll ever see 30 mpgs is if its dropped from a plane. the M1031 has the 6.2 diesel, t-400 tranny, np205 transfer case with P.T.O. provisions (& this will kill your economy) a 14 bolt detroit locker with 4.56-1 gears in the rear & a dana 60 limited slip up front . Now you can change out the ring & pinion gear ratio or go with taller tires (essentially doing the same thing) but any gain in fuel milliage will be offset with a loss in torque. With diesel fuel at about 20% more in cost than gas, it will be about a wash with your colorado. You can expect 10... maybe 12 mpg if your going downhill with a tailwind. :-D The positive factor is you only have one payment, & the cool factor goes up about 87%. I have one. With the maintance shelter, 12 kw generator & air compressor, it must weigh about 8,000 or 9,000 lbs empty. hope this info helps you make up your mind. John :wink:

Last edited:

jets1959