• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Threw a rod through my engine block.

Tototex

I bought a 1972 M51A2 dump truck with 397 miles on it. She sat in a county warehouse until recently.

I changed the oil and some fingernail sized chunks came out.

Against my gut feeling I tried to drive it home anyway.

2 miles from the lot cruising at 45 MPH, she threw a rod and broke a 2" by 4" hole through the engine block.

I am no mechanic but am trying to learn.

Is this something I can fix? Do I need a knew engine? Where do I look? Or is it time to just haul her to the dump?

Also, the tow company wants to just use a tow bar to pull this guy. Is there any issues with that? I heard someone say you have to remove the drive lines before dragging it.

0729151705.jpg

gimpyrobb

dumpsterlandingfromorbit!
Nope, pull the axles out and tow-bar anywhere. Yes you will need to find a new motor to swap in if you want to keep it. Sorry to hear this.

If you part it out, let me know, I'd like some parts.

swbradley1

Modertator
Staff member
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Sorry about your luck but I have had an engine decide it was better to be in pieces than stay together.

Like Gimp said, find a motor and pull the engine pack out, swap the engine and either put the pack back together or put the engine in by itself and add the rest.

Lots of help on the site.

swbradley1

Modertator
Staff member
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
I know this isn't funny but that looks to be the same spot my block cracked when my crankshaft broke into two pieces. My truck still ran on the back three cylinders but man what a racket. Felt like it was going to bring the front wheels off the ground like a hoopty.